All Path of Exile classes: All PoE core and Ascendancy subclasses

Diving into the world of Path of Exile is like embarking on an epic adventure where every decision shapes your destiny. Choosing a class and Ascendancy feels like selecting the right gear for a boss fight—crucial! Let me guide you through the intricate web of PoE classes and Ascendancy subclasses.

How many PoE classes are there?

So, here’s the scoop: PoE has seven core classes, each aligned with one of the game’s main attributes—Strength, Dexterity, and Intelligence. And don’t even get me started on the 19 Ascendancy subclasses! But hold your horses; you can only choose three per main class (one for Scion, our wildcard).

ClassMain Attribute
DuelistStrength & Dexterity
TemplarStrength & Intelligence
ShadowDexterity & Intelligence
ScionStrength, Dexterity & Intelligence

I know, it’s like assembling your dream team, but with attributes.

In PoE, your class sets the stage, influencing your character’s stats, skills, and items. Some classes go all-in on a single attribute, while others elegantly balance two or even all three. It’s a delicate dance of strengths, and I love it!

The best part? Your skill and item build can break free from your class norms, but be ready to invest more skill points if you wander too far on PoE’s giant skill tree.

Tip: Once you’ve picked your main class, there’s no turning back. It’s like committing to a class in a game of D&D, so choose wisely!

All PoE Ascendancy subclasses

Now, the real spice comes with Ascendancy subclasses. Picture them as your character’s evolution, unlocking after conquering the Labyrinth and your first Aspirant Trial. These subclasses are like mini skill trees, allowing you to fine-tune your class with potent passives.

Each main class (except Scion, being the maverick) boasts three Ascendancy subclasses. You get eight Ascendancy skill points per character to sprinkle that extra flavor onto your build.

ClassAscendancy Subclasses
MarauderJuggernaut, Berserker, Chieftain
RangerDeadeye, Raider, Pathfinder
WitchNecromancer, Elementalist, Occultist
DuelistSlayer, Gladiator, Champion
TemplarInquisitor, Hierophant, Guardian
ShadowAssassin, Saboteur, Trickster

Oh, and here’s the kicker: once you’ve chosen a subclass, you’re in it for the long haul. If you fancy a change, it’s back to the Labyrinth for you.

Red wing
Red wing

Red wing is a writer and editor at fencepostblog with a passion for exploring the world of media. Red wing's writing covers a wide range of topics connected to TV Anime, Manga, and some other topics,

Articles: 3633